Press Kit - The Revolution Trilogy, by Rick AtkinsonThe Revolution Trilogy, by Rick Atkinson

Press Kit

Basic Information about The British are Coming:

Full Title of (Newest) Book: The British are Coming: The War for America, Lexington to Princeton, 1775-1777

Short Title of Book: The British are Coming

Series Information: Volume One of the Revolution Trilogy

Author: Rick Atkinson

Website URL: visit website

Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.

Publication Date: May 14, 2019

Cover Image: Download High Resolution Cover

Overview of the Book: Rick Atkinson turns his attention to a new war, and in the initial volume of the Revolution Trilogy he recounts the first twenty-one months of America’s violent war for independence.

Biographical Information about the Author:

Name: Rick Atkinson

Titles / Awards: Atkinson’s many awards include the 2003 Pulitzer Prize for history; the 1982 Pulitzer Prize for national reporting; and the 1999 Pulitzer Prize for public service, awarded to the Washington Post for investigative articles directed and edited by Atkinson on shootings by District of Columbia police officers. He is winner of the 1989 George Polk Award for national reporting, the 2003 Society for Military History Distinguished Book Award, the 2007 Gerald R. Ford Award for Distinguished Reporting on National Defense, the 2010 Pritzker Military Library Literature Award for Lifetime Achievement in Military Writing, the 2013 New York Military Affairs Symposium award for lifetime achievement, and the 2014 Samuel Eliot Morison Prize for lifetime achievement from the Society for Military History. In December 2015 he received the Peggy V. Helmerich Distinguished Author Award, previously given to Saul Bellow, Toni Morrison, and David McCullough. Atkinson has served as the Gen. Omar N. Bradley Chair of Strategic Leadership at the U.S. Army War College, where he remains an adjunct faculty member. He is a Presidential Counselor at the National World War II Museum in New Orleans, a member of the Society of American Historians, and an inductee in the Academy of Achievement, for which he also serves as a board member. He serves on the governing commission of the National Portrait Gallery.

Past Publications: An Army at Dawn (Volume One of the Liberation Trilogy), The Day of Battle (Volume Two of the Liberation Trilogy), The Guns at Last Light (Volume Three of the Liberation Trilogy), In the Company of Soldiers, The Long Gray Line, Crusade.

Photo: Download Image. Photo © Elliott O’Donovan.

Short Bio: Rick Atkinson is the bestselling author of An Army at Dawn (winner of the Pulitzer Prize for history), The Day of Battle, The Long Gray Line, In the Company of Soldiers, and Crusade. His many other awards include a Pulitzer Prize for journalism, the George Polk award, and the Pritzker Military Library Literature Award. A former staff writer and senior editor at The Washington Post, he lives in Washington, D.C.

Please contact us if you need additional information.